The First Kids: Sasha and Malia

There have been few times in my life when I’ve thought, “I am living through history.”  The last time that thought crossed my mind was on September 11th, 2001.  And it was with tears in my eyes and a heavy heart that I thought about one day explaining to my grandchildren what it meant to experience that day and those following it.

Last night and today, it is also with tears shining in my eyes that I am struck by the magnitude of living in such a momentously historic and important time in American (and world) history.  I am so proud and excited to be an American.  I know the road ahead is rough for our new President-elect Obama, but I think we are, as a nation, at a major turning point.  Hell, things can only get better, right?

In any event, I found myself thinking a lot about the First Family- and in particular, the First Kids: Sasha and Malia Obama.  They will be the youngest children to live in the White House since Amy Carter and I’m sure will face many of the same challenges and stresses that plagued Chelsea and the Bush twins.  I can’t imagine growing up (and going through your awkward tween/teen years) in the international spotlight.  At the same time, I am so happy to have two young, confident, and smart Black young women representing kids in the White House.

The girls read through the entire Harry Potter series with their dad and finished the last installment during this campaign.  I hope President Obama continues to carve out time to read aloud to the girls.  What a better model for family read-alouds than the First Family?

I was curious about Sasha and Malia’s other favorite books.  I did a little searching online but couldn’t find much.  (Although there is a lot of press about their fondness for the Jonas Brothers).  I decided to email the Obama campaign and see if they can give me some info.  I’ll keep trying and searching and keep you posted!

One thought on “The First Kids: Sasha and Malia

  1. If you are successful finding out what books the “First Daughters” like to read,, please post. I am a children’s librarian, and I know that this would be a wonderful way to promote reading !!

Leave a Reply

