New Job, New Shoes, and Fun Times with Intermediate Fiction

So, it’s official.  I am now on the staff of the Darien Library in Darien, CT.  And YOWZAS have I been busy.  You’d think after working in New York City I’d be used to a fast-paced environment.  Well, Manhattan has nothing on this town.  It is insanely, unbelievably busy here.  And I haven’t worked a weekend yet (which I hear are even crazier).  It’s awesome!!!

One of my first projects here has been weeding through the intermediate fiction collection and ordering (Yes! Ordering!) new and replacement books.  I’m a big fan of this section (which includes some of my personal all-time favorites such as Clementine, The Hoboken Chicken Emergency, and Freckle Juice).  I’ve been scouring SLJs and going back through my old book lists to beef up the collection.  I’m working my way through a couple of ARCs, but if you know of any great new titles- lemme know!  🙂

My new ‘brary also has a spiffy new website with tons of staff blogs.  When I’m not bloggin here at LibraryVoice, I’m thinking up more coherent, usually topical, and sometimes grammatically correct posts for the Youth section.  I may try to cross-post or just mirror a few of the topics on this blog.

And finally….to shoes.  As the autumn weather rolls in, I’ve been thinking about stocking up on a few good pairs of shoes.  Practical shoes.  Boots.  You know, something that can withstand the cold New England winters and the brutal New York City sidewalks.

Or, there’s always these:

Rrrrrrrrr…………..

One thought on “New Job, New Shoes, and Fun Times with Intermediate Fiction

  1. I’m a big fan of the Ivy and Bean series by Annie Barrows and The Sisters Grimm series by Michael Buckley. We just had Michael Stephens at our library for our staff inservice day and he featured the Darien Library’s staffs blog as part of his presentation on using Web 2.0 technologies in the library 🙂

Leave a Reply

