The Latest in the City of Ember Series

The fourth and final book in the City of Ember series, The Diamond of Darkhold, is coming out in August. 

I loved the first book, City of Ember, and use it often as a booktalk for 5th and 6th graders.  I was somewhat disappointed in the sequel, People of Sparks.  I never quite got “hooked” and stopped reading only a few chapters in.  I completely ignored the third book, The Prophet of Yonwood

But sometimes a good review will prompt me to pick up a book I formerly neglected.  Jen Robinson’s latest review has done just that.  I think I’ll give People of Sparks another try.

7 thoughts on “The Latest in the City of Ember Series

  1. Thanks for the endorsement, Kiera. For the record, I think that you could read People of Sparks and Diamond of Darkhold, and skip the Prophet of Yonwood, and you wouldn’t miss very much, in terms of the collective story. Yonwood is definitely a tangent as far as the series goes, though I enjoyed it on its own. Anyway, I hope you like the People of Sparks.

  2. I think I’ve already mentioned enjoying your posts, but now it’s more official because I nominated you for an award. You can find more information about it at my blog.

  3. The City of Ember is a great book and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series! Can you tell me what the book titles are and what number of the series they are and how many there are!

  4. The sequels to City of Ember in order are:

    The People of Sparks
    The Prophet of Yonwood
    The Diamond of Darkhold

    Happy Reading!

  5. I just recently ordered the city of ember in the scholastic book order and I’ve been anxiously awaiting it’s arrival ever since. I can’t wait to get my hands on it! I heard it got great reviews! I’ll write back once I actually read it!

  6. Can’t wait to hear what you think. I’m curious about the movie version, too. But you should absolutely read the book first! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

