Library Voicemail Service?

I had to share this one. 

A regular adult patron came up to the reference desk and explained that he is creating a user profile on craigslist.com.  Apparently, the form requires a home phone number.  For reasons that the patron did not want to get into, he wouldn’t/couldn’t use his home number and wanted to use the library line.

I told him, as politely as I could, that he could not use the library phone number.  He was a tad pissed off and told me, “See, like you just said ‘no’- that’s what I say when the library asks me for money.”

Well.  There you have it.  

I did try to explain that if I let him use the number, I would have to allow everyone to use the library line for personal use- and that would tie up the line, resulting in a lot of angry people getting a busy signal when they call to ask a question.  He seemed unconvinced.

One thought on “Library Voicemail Service?

  1. I’m trying to figure out how using the library phone number could even work. And why he decided to ask permission first. At least now we only have insiders tying up phone lines 😉

Leave a Reply

