Staff Picks Book Displays

I didn’t post anyting yesterday because I was hard at work writting up bookmarks for my Staff Picks Book Display.  “Staff Picks” is a bit of a misnomer, since the “staff” in this instance is just little old me. 

Here are some more pictures:

A sample blurb:

When I first started doing staff picks bookmarks, I typed out the blurbs.  I’ve since found that hand-written notes are much more appealing to both kids and parents.  I guess there is something personal about my chicken-scratch notes that make them seem like more heartfelt recommendations. 

Parents are usually the ones who browse the staff picks and seem most grateful for the help.  It’s also a non-invasive way to introduce shy patrons to the collection.  Many times I’ll see either children or their parents wandering the stacks, looking overwhelmed.  Sometimes the best approach is to simply introduce yourself and ask if they would like some suggestions.  Other times, especially during a busy afternoon, this direct approach may not be possible.  I like my collection to be as welcoming and browsable as possible.  I find doing periodic book displays like this a nice way to highlight books that may otherwise languish on the shelves.  Since fiction tends to be a slow-mover in my toddler-heavy community, I like to put some of my favorite titles out on parade. Today I’ll be adding similar bookmarks to my paperback fiction collection.  

I’m always looking for fun, but relatively simple, book display ideas.  Although the hand-written notes is somewhat time consuming, it’s a nice way to spend an hour or so in the morning over coffee.  And if a bit of my vanilla latte should stain the bookmarks, well, I suppose that’s all part of the “personal touch.”   

 

2 thoughts on “Staff Picks Book Displays

  1. Skulduggery Pleasant! Yes!

    Your recommendations are missed here. Maybe I’ll just print out a picture of your picks and post them up here…

  2. Thanks Amy! I LOVE Skulduggery Pleasant. I hear there is a sequel out. I’m dying to get my hands on a copy. Feel free to use any of my picks anytime. And share your new favorites- I love to hear what you cool YA librarians are reading!

Leave a Reply

