THE END IS NEAR

And I couldn’t be happier.  I think I might throw a party.  I’m refering, of course, to the end of my master’s  program in Library Science.  That’s right, dear reader, yours truly is just three weeks away from being crowed a legitimate LIBRARY SCIENTIST.  (cue lightning and maniacal laughter)

I’ve handed in my thesis, I’ve got a mere 3 classes left, and then BAMO!  It’s taken me longer than I thought it would- about 2 1/2 years.  That’s because I choose to only take one course for two semesters.  For me, this was the right decision.  Working fulltime and taking courses at night via subway and buses can be brutal- especially during the cruel New York winters.  By pushing graduation back a semester, I saved some of my sanity and gave myself an extra semester to work on my 709 project.  Oh- hold it right there.  Now, I know some of you are reading this and nodding sympathetically.  Others are going- 709?  Bawhaaa???  For those non-Queens College students or alumni, 709 is the hellish culmination of the Queens College Library Science master’s program.  The actual course is a semester-long introduction to the structure of a master’s thesis and the various methodologies one can employ.  Either on your own or in a group, every MLS student must complete a master’s thesis on an original topic. 

Anyhoo, that’s all over and done with!  Once I get that diploma in the mail- it’s banana and peanut butter sandwiches for everyone!!!!

Leave a Reply

